Painting My Writing With Colour

bug-1962813_960_720

Image courtesy of  https://pixabay.com/

Falling into familiar patterns is easy. They creep up on us without our noticing and we find the excitement in our writing slowly goes into hiding. That’s what it’s like for me anyway.

I’ve done more factual than creative writing over the past three years, but now I’m trying to kick start my creativity. I have a few go-to books I enjoy when this happens and I pulled out one this morning. I randomly opened at a chapter about including the detail of colour in writing.

This was exactly what I needed. I’m currently writing a piece about ‘That Woman’ for my memoir group. My writing was drab, even though I was describing a woman vibrant in both the colours she chose and in her personality. Just being reminded of colour enabled me to revitalise my writing, bring more life to it.

The woman’s grey hair became silver grey hair, so silver the light bounced off it like sparks. Her pink volkswagen car became a car so pink it shocked the drab neighbourhood around it.

Sometimes it is easy to fall into lazy habits, but they are not impossible to turn around. Today I’m looking forward to painting the piece I’m writing with colour.

4 thoughts on “Painting My Writing With Colour

  1. Very good points here Val, and it’s made me think too. The woman’s grey hair and the pink Volkswagen are perfect examples of how to bring colour in! Food for thought. And I just love that photo! 🙂

    • Hi Brigitte, I should have added on my post that the photo was courtesy of pixabay. The free images there don’t require attribution, but I have added that onto the post now. Cheers, Val

Leave a Reply

